Shameless Moneysaver: Craigslist

Howdy! This is for the entrepreneurial and crafty portion of the crowd.

Craigslist can be amazing if you know how to use it correctly.

I frequently peruse the free stuff portion of the website. I often find really solid pieces of beautiful wood furniture. It may just need sanding and refinishing or some new drawer pulls, but the cost of those tasks is really low.

I’ve found a beautiful dresser that needed some love that I picked up for free. I spent $20 in materials for sanding, painting, and new hardware. Know what I did next? I posted the SAME piece of furniture on Craigslist for $125. And guess what? IT SOLD.

I love flipping furniture on Craigslist. I have kept some of the gems I’ve found but I normally sell refinished furniture for a lovely little profit. 🙂

Refinishing furniture sounds scary and difficult, but it really isn’t. You can refinish a piece in a matter of 2-3 hours.

So, free furniture piece + $20 in supplies + 2-3 hours labor= $125. Not bad. That’s about $50/hour.

Although not every profit margin is that huge, it’s a great way to make a couple of extra bucks, especially if you’re home in the summer and have some free time.

Wanna know more about how to paint furniture? Head here:
http://diyonthecheap.blogspot.com/2012/03/how-to-paint-furniture-beginners-guide.html

Leave a Reply

